Pay-per-click is an amazing way to get up to a 300% return on investment for one of the very few times you have to pay to advertise online. Even though you do have to pay, you really can’t argue with that percentage and it would be completely worth it. To be completely honest, I try as hard as possible to avoid clicking on banner ads and I always let out a little groan when I accidentally cause one to pop up. But I also know what to look for and how to avoid them, a lot of people don’t. I think that especially the search engine marketing on Google is especially tricky to differentiate from actual search results.

The WIIFM is always the most important thing to consider any time you advertise, on the web or off. If you don’t have a clear hook for your potential consumer, they will have no reason to click your link over your competition’s. It’s kind of a constant struggle to have the most relevant and interesting key words and subject line in order to snag the casual searcher. Just for fun I Googled textbook (because it’s about that time) to see what keywords popped up and what drew me in the most. Skipping over the ads, the one that most caught my eye was for Amazon because it wasn’t too wordy and it just gave me what I needed to know right up front. “Save up to 30% on New Textbooks and up to 90% off Used Listings.” The other sites were long wordy sentences that didn’t include the percentage of savings so I immediately glossed over them and lost interest. My little mini experiment proved that this chapter was completely right!