Search engine optimization is something I’ve been interested since freshmen year when several guest speakers from Yahoo! came and explained the concept in one of my advertising classes. I kind of thought it would be fun to be the one to come up with all of the possible keyword choices for a company or product. It was also cool to learn how the bidding wars work for the higher position on Google or other search engines. Everything is so much more complex than you would originally think.

It’s cool to think of the internet as basically a big huge math formula. I first heard about web algorithms when The Social Network came out and they were trying to come up with a formula to compare student’s attractiveness. It was like a little lightbulb went off “Oh, of course that would have to use an algorithm, how else would that be possible?”

I had no idea there was that little spider that runs all over the internet and not only looks for keywords and categorizing the content on the pages. I also didn’t know people tried to cheat the system and usually failed because of those awesome metaphorical spiders. The internet is a crazy and overwhelming place when you really think about everything that goes into it!

I can totally relate to forgetting about page titles. When I took my web design class I lost points on almost every assignment because I forgot that key step. You’d think I would learn but it’s so easy to blow off. The commandments (like in every chapter) are extremely useful but especially for this chapter. I think a lot of times people who build their own web pages but aren’t completely trained in it would easily forget these crucial steps to get the most out of search engines.