I am a Youtube junkie. I go there for everything whether I want a cheap laugh, to boogie to a music video, to watch someone rant about things I rant about, or even for a tutorial on the dreaded fishtail braid (so hard but so cute!).

I remember in one of my classes we looked at an ad on YouTube that was like one of those “Choose Your Own Adventure” books. It was kind of like these except it was an actual advertisement. I can’t for the life of me remember the brand or the product (probably not a good thing) but I definitely remember the interesting concept. Edit: Nevermind I found it right here!

In high school I took an AP English class and one of the projects was to come up with a modern trailer for the film version of one of the classic novels we read. My teacher also had a contest to see who could market the video the best to get the most page views. My team didn’t win, sadly, but it really gave me a first-hand look at how powerful video marketing can be. The fact that some random high schooler’s english project can get hundreds of views is pretty amazing.

I know it’s an example that is used far too often but I love how Wieden & Kennedy found a way to take their hugely beloved “Old Spice Man” character and have him interact via video responses with his devoted fans by answering questions posed in youtube comments in-character. I’m not embarrassed to admit that one very boring afternoon I found myself watching a majority of them and not for once did I think I was being advertised to, which I think is a very good thing. I think that in recent years, people have gotten very sick of being force-fed advertising and if a company can find a way to make their ads enjoyable, fun, and interactive people won’t mind as much.