I remember the video of the blenders shredding the iphone being passed around with my friends. It always astounds me how willing we all are to watch such nonsensical videos but we LOVE them! Who ever would have thought that some of the most popular videos would include a sneezing panda and a laughing baby. I think at the end of the day people just want to be entertained. Those are certainly the videos that get the most views and if you’re a company that means reaching the most potential customers.

I think it’s smart when you start getting really into social media to have a blog or website where you can display all of the different places you are uploading content. Or even better, to link to everything from that blog or webpage. I hate when I’m following something and I have to check all of their different social media outlets because they don’t have somewhere to showcase everything in one place.

I’m surprised BitTorrent was included in this book because it’s pretty much all illegal content and I feel like it would be a blacklisted site or something but I appreciate its inclusion because it is a huge part of the internet right now. One of my friends uses it every day and burns everything he finds to disks. Right now he has movies in his collection that aren’t even in theaters yet. I of course am too much of a chicken to do this (and don’t have 50 million dollars for a lawsuit) but I’m always in awe of what you can get for free on the internet.

Commandment #4 on page 254 interested me because I have watched tons and tons of videos on youtube but I hardly (if ever) comment on them. Plenty of people do considering most videos have a plethora of them, it has just never struck me to leave one. The more I think about it though, how can I expect to attract people to my page if I’m not active in the community?