Being in college, photo sharing is a huge part of my life. Practically everything you do on the weekend is chronicled in both great (and not so great) photo memories. You instantly make friends with a “tag me in that one!” You spend hours getting ready because you know every movement will be captured on someones camera.

I remember being in summer camp and it was crucial to only photograph the most important things because you only had so much film to last the whole week. The digital camera has changed that completely. Now it is possible to document things that are occurring and upload them instantly if you use your phone’s camera.

I love using flickr for various things and I know many of my friends use it for useful things relating to their major. My cousin right now is on a journalism trip to India and is documenting his trip using flickr, facebook, and tumblr. He uploads only pictures and so far has not said one word. He lets the pictures speak for themselves.

I thought that the “design a Coach tote” contest was a really good example of how to utilize photo sharing from a business perspective. Girls love to design their own stuff (my sorority sisters and I design rings on Tiffany Co.’s website all the time) and I think this strategy really hit on that. The contest made me think of the site Polyvore.com which allows you to design an outfit and then shows you where to purchase those items.

For a more business-to-business example of photo sharing, recently the company I’m interning at celebrated their 20th anniversary and an agricultural blogger came and photographed to whole thing for use on his blog. He provided a link to his flickr account where hundreds of photos were uploaded. He even allowed our company to use his images on our own website. Great way for companies/individuals to help each other out!