I really like the concept of podcasts. With iPods and iPhones being so popular right now I think podcasts are an extremely beneficial thing to look into if it fits your business. I think if you are going to pull off a podcast you have to make sure the speaker is interesting to people and will be able to come up with things to talk about every week/every day. My dad has two favorite morning radio djs that he isn’t able to listen to while he’s at work. However, they upload podcasts of their program every day and he’s able to download those and listen to them at the gym and on his drive home.

I think of this along the same lines as blogging, just with speaking instead of typing. Businesses can use podcasts to explain their products and how to utilize them, or just to provide news about the industry and their company in general. There may not be a huge market for that (depending on what your business is), but you will definitely be reaching out to people who are very highly invested.

I thought it was interesting that Evo Terra said to “just start, and figure it out as you go along” (203). That’s not advice you would expect or necessarily want when it comes to something for your business. When you think about it though, it makes perfect sense. You won’t really know what works as podcast subjects for your target audience until you just start throwing things out there. Then maybe you can send out a poll about what they would actually like to hear. That way you know exactly what to focus on and won’t bore anyone.

I had no idea creating podcasts would be so simple and free! I’m considering creating one for my office in my sorority. Could become very useful.