It was really interesting to see the history of publishing laid out from its beginnings as an oral tradition, to cave painting and papyrus scrolls, and finally up to the instant gratification of online publications. It is easy to get lost in such a technical world and forget all about humanity’s humble beginnings. A recent bout of boredom had me exploring a museum that is nearby to my house. When you really stop, put away the iPhone and explore where we came from it is very eye opening.

I know it will take a while but I will be sad to see printed publications die out. There’s nothing I like more than grabbing a magazine and a Starbucks iced latte and laying out to enjoy a day off. Electronics cannot beat the feel of flipping a page, filling out a quiz, or ripping out a tasty looking recipe (or picture of a celebrity…). I feel the same way about books. I’ve toyed with the idea of buying a Nook because I’m an avid reader and all of those books are such a pain to transport in and out of college. But I can’t bring myself to part with my dog-eared, cracked binded, fully loved paperbacks.

Tony Mamone’s report about his online magazine Zimbio peaked my interest, especially because I am interested in seeing how the print industry gets out of the funk it’s in. A fellow intern I work with told me he was majoring in magazine journalism when we first met and it took a lot for me to hold my tongue from yelling “are you crazy?!” Before I had the chance he quickly added that his other major was broadcasting with a minor in computer science and that his dream was to develop an online sports magazine that was as respected as Sports Illustrated. I swallowed my previous astonishment and admitted that I was impressed. I think in this quickly growing technological society it is very important to always be thinking ahead.